Taranaki Mustang Club

After a preliminary meeting on 27 April 1975 at Peter and Jocelyn Brouwer's home the Taranaki Mustang Club was officially launched on 11 May 1975 at Barry and Mary Corbett's farm. This makes it the oldest NZ Mustang club. When formed there were  6 Mustangs in the club. The club lapsed after Xmas 1976, but was reformed with new vigour on 11 June 1977 with 12 members. The club is proud to have Lee Iacoca (the creator of the Mustang) as its honorary patron.

Click here to view the early club history 1975-1979

Today the club has about 60 members from all over the Taranaki Region.

The members together own about 50 Mustangs which include:

Three 1971 Boss 351 (two with consecutive VIN!)
A 71 Mach 1 HO (one of only 300 made)
Various 64-73 fastbacks, Notchbacks, Convertibles, Mach 1's, GT's
One Grande
An 85 GTHO
A 94 GT

Five track only cars, including one with over 650 bhp.

(To see pictures of some club cars, click the button at the top of the page.)

Club meetings are held monthly and alternate between New Plymouth, Central Taranaki or Hawera.

The club magazine is called Mustang Roundup, and is published every 3-4 months.

Club Magazine

Contact data for the club (correct as at July 2020) is as follows:

President: Errol Hughes
Vice President: Kerry Drake   monty170@xtra.co.nz
Secretary:  Charmaine Scott   thecats@xtra.co.nz
Treasurer: Keith Robinson   roadrunnerkeith@outlook.com
Editor:  Terry Dwyer   tdwyer@infogen.net.nz
Club address:   Club Address
Taranaki Mustang Club Inc
C/- 10 Cross St
New Plymouth


The club also elects an historian, overseas correspondent and official photographer for club events.

66 Shelby GT 350 at New Plymouth airport, with Tom Cruise's almost as cool personal jet.